The history of the now Murchison Falls National Park dates back to the Uganda tour by the European explorers John Speke and James Grant in 1862. This visit was followed by a thorough expedition of the park by Samuel Baker and Florence Baker in 1863-1864 during their Uganda adventure safari tour in search of the source of the Nile River. The park was named by sir Samuel Baker as Murchison after the geologist Roderick Murchison. Murchison was the then president of the Royal Geographical society.
The park was first gazetted as a game reserve in 1926 making it the oldest and largest conservation area in Uganda (3893km2). Being the first park to be gazetted it can be termed “the first piece of the stunning beauty at the pearl of Africa to be appreciated”. In 1928, the boundaries were extended north of the Nile River into the modern day Nwoya district. After the British administrators established the national parks Act of Uganda in 1952 the reserved area became Murchison Falls National Park. By 1960’s, Murchison Falls National Park had become the leading destination for Uganda safaris because of the diverse wildlife to the spectacular landscape straddling on both sides of the Nile River.
Did you know that the most powerful waterfall on the face of the earth is at Murchison Falls National Park?